Sylvia Schramm

ART

SYLVIA SCHRAMM – ABOUT

„A Person who sees only fashion in fashion is a fool“. (Honoré Balzac)

SYLVIA SCHRAMMSylvia Schramm, born in Hamburg/ Germany, started drawing and being interested in art at a young age. She studied fashion design at FHS Armgartstr., Hamburg, worked as a model and traveled all over the world as a designer and a buying agent for years. Even after the birth of her two children, she continued her creative work; founding her own children’s furniture company, exhibiting her painting and illustrations, and creating her own fashion collection.

But fashion decays – art stays, which finally made her decide to work exclusively as an artist in 2013. It was her intention to blur the borders between the two that led to this decision. Inspired by the culture of fashion, Sylvia Schramm now uses her large works of metal to turn something temporary into something persistent.

The artist also loves to „provoke“ the art scene with her innate sense of beauty, since she believes its braver these days to stand for an artwork that is allowed to be beautiful. Although her works transmit aesthetic and a strong sense for color and shape, they are critical of the fashion issue and its „excesses“ as well. Each artwork hides a thought provoking association or story within itself. With her depictions of women, she represents a multifaceted image of the female strength and personality in our society today, which is in tune with elegance or „girl power“.

Sylvia Schramms artistic technique is digital painting, which – due to her knowledge of painting – she developed into something unique. With a very elaborate and special procedure the image is printed onto a metal plate, what creates a coexistance between the metal panel and the color . The interplay between gloss and matt makes the viewer almost directly feel the physical aspect and shapes of the impressive works and characterizes her unique artworks. Symbolically, to preserve the fleeting of fashion, most of the artworks are framed „heavily“ in iron bars.

In a similar technique but changing outlines, Schramm developed further artworks from aluminium plates that arecalled the „Cutout“ – series. The figures seem to leave the picture and others are combined with shaped neon lights.

Further, the artist created thrilling works for the “Legendary Cycle Hamburg” with the same technique, which deals with the connections between art and legends – “ART ‘N’ LEGENDS.” These works can be found as a permanent exhibition in the INDIAN showroom in Hamburg.

Schramm’s native town inspired the “real Hamburger” to an impressive series with the theme of “ART AND THE CITY”. Hamburg is the center of abundant world history – fully in the spirit of her husband’s grandfather, the historian Percy Ernst Schramm (1894-1970), who wrote the book “Hamburg, Deutschland und die Welt” among many others.

Sylvia Schramm has exhibited her works in Hamburg, Amsterdam, and Berlin and is represented on Mallorca.

Watch this video on YouTube.

A film by Juliane Clüsener-Godt
Created at the Academy Mode & Design Hamburg

Sylvia Schramm

ART

SYLVIA SCHRAMM – ABOUT

„A Person who sees only fashion in fashion is a fool“. (Honoré Balzac)

SYLVIA SCHRAMMDie Hamburgerin, Sylvia Schramm, begann früh zu malen und sich für Kunst zu interessieren. Sie, studierte Modedesign an der FHS Armgartstr., Hamburg, arbeitete als Model und bereiste als Designerin und Einkäuferin viele Jahre die ganze Welt. Auch nach der Geburt ihrer 2 Kinder setzte sie ihr kreatives Schaffen fort, gründete ihre eigene Kindermöbel Firma, stellte ihre Malerei und Illustrationen aus und produzierte schließlich ihre eigene Modelinie.

Doch die Mode vergeht – die Kunst bleibt, was sie schließlich 2013 dazu brachte, sich ausschließlich der Kunst zu widmen. Inspiriert von der Kultur der Mode und mit der Intension, die Grenzen zwischen Kunst und Mode zu verwischen. schafft Sylvia Schramm mit ihren großformatigen Arbeiten auf Metall aus dem Vergänglichen nun etwas Bleibendes.

Mit Vergnügen „provoziert“ Sylvia Schramm die Kunstszene mit ihrem angeborenen Schönheitssinn, denn sie findet es mutiger, heutzutage zu einem Kunstwerk zu stehen, das auch schön sein darf. Ihre Arbeiten strahlen Ästhetik sowie ein ausgeprägtes Farb- und Formgefühl aus, setzten sich aber auch kritisch mit der Mode und ihren „Auswüchsen“ auseinander: Jedes einzelne Werk verbirgt eine Assoziation oder Geschichte, die zum Nachdenken anregt. Mit ihren Frauendarstellungen spiegelt sie deren facettenreiches Bild von weiblicher Stärke und Charakter, aber auch Eleganz bis „Girl Power“, unserer heutigen Gesellschaft wider.

Schramms künstlerische Technik ist die Digitale Malerei, die sie mit dem Wissen aus der Malerei zu etwas Einzigartigem entwickelt hat. Das Motiv wird mittels spezieller, aufwendiger Verfahren auf eine Metallplatte gedruckt, wodurch eine Koexistenz zwischen Untergrund und Farbe entsteht. Das Spiel zwischen Matt und Glanz lässt den Betrachter das Stoffliche und Figürliche förmlich spüren und charakterisiert ihre eindrucksvollen Unikate. Sinnbildlich, um das Flüchtige zu bewahren, werden die meisten Arbeiten „gewichtig“ in Industrie-Eisen gerahmt.

In gleicher Technik, aber sich wandelnden äußeren Formen, entwickelte die Künstlerin weitere Arbeiten aus Aluminiumplatten. Diese „Cutout“ -- Serie  lässt die Figuren den Rahmen übertreten oder verbindet sich mit elektrischen Neonformen.

Des Weiteren entwickelt sie für „Legendary Cycles Hamburg“ spannende Arbeiten in gleicher Technik, die sich mit der Verbindung zwischen Kunst und legendärem Design — “ART ‘N‘ LEGEND” – befasst. Diese Arbeiten sind als dauerhafte Ausstellung im INDIAN Showroom Hamburg zu sehen.

Schramms Geburtsstadt  inspirierte die “waschechte” Hamburgerin 2016 zu einer anderen eindrucksvollen Serie mit dem Thema “ART AND THE CITY”. Die Hansestadt als Mittelpunkt des Weltgeschehens – ganz im Sinne des Großvaters ihres Mannes, des Historikers Percy Ernst Schramm (1894-1970), der u.a. das Buch „Hamburg, Deutschland und die Welt“ verfasste.

Sylvia Schramm hat in Hamburg, Amsterdam sowie Berlin ausgestellt und ist auf Mallorca künstlerisch vertreten.

Dieses Video ansehen auf YouTube.

Ein Film von Juliane Clüsener-Godt
Entstanden an der Akademie Mode & Design Hamburg